Lifes Worth Knowing

The Weekender

In Fascinating, Interesting, Justin on December 10, 2011 at 9:06 am

The Weekender is a weekly column devoted to the ideas/articles/videos that I find fascinating and wish I had more time to explore.

Nothing like taking a snorkel through the park. Green Lake, located in the Austrian Alps is really only a lake for half the year, when snow melt swells the banks of the streams. The rest of the year, it is a completely dry local park with benches and trails…which leads to some pretty interesting pictures of scuba divers swimming over park benches. (via my wife)

That little guy? I wouldn’t worry about that little guy. The EPA implicated fracking as the cause of water table pollution for the first time this week. I wonder how that news will play out in Pennsylvania, the home of 50,000 gas wells and counting…

Cashiers Rejoice. Quick, name a manufacturing process that takes raw material in, creates a finished product – and the finished product is less valuable then when the process started. Give up? Well, I just described the making of a penny.

Yet, Clark Griswold still can’t get out of the London traffic circle. I’m not sure what is more impressive – the process that London cab drivers must endure to get a license to drive a taxi in the city – or the research team that discovered the physiological changes the brain goes through to acquire the knowledge necessary to pass the cab driver’s exam.

Personal Kryptonite: Astronomy & Politics. My adult self has been fascinated with the political process ever since an American Politics class I took in High School. My childhood self was completely enamored with all things astronomical – so much so that I had pictures of Robert Goddard (seen by most as the father of the modern rocket) hanging in my bedroom. My brain practically imploded when I came across this map that tracks the amount of money in our political system – and uses different types of stars to differentiate.

Grizzly bears > Honey Badgers. The honey badger may have gotten a lot of attention recently, but I still maintain the Grizzly Bear is the animal that doesn’t care the most. (I needed some sort of reason to link to a video of some guy wrestling a Grizzly bear…because, seriously… wrestling a grizzly bear!?)

Leave a Reply

