Lifes Worth Knowing

The Weekender

In General, Interesting, Justin, Politics on November 18, 2011 at 9:32 am

Recently my work schedule has led me to work over the weekend, but take Fridays off, which means that I usually start my weekends a little bit early. Now, my job usually leaves me little time to peruse the news and try to discover new things. (Hence, the nature of this blog).

One thing that I have been able to do is to gather articles and essays that I find interesting over the week, and I save them for my Friday mornings to enjoy while wife and child are still sleeping. It becomes my time to do the internet exploration that I would spend way too much time doing (if I had the time)

Now, this medium gives me the opportunity to share my discoveries with the readership of the blog, so here is what I found interesting this week. It really runs the gamut from recently published scientific papers to political columns to funny videos.  Usually it’s something that I didn’t know before, or a new argument that I find compelling. Either way, enjoy.

Wait, why do we have a vampire killing kit? This is an interesting story that brings a much needed lighthearted story out of Pennsylvania this week. The backstory is that Harrisburg bankrupted itself by building a gargantuan trash incinerator. They plan to recover their solvency by auctioning off a prostitute’s personal belongings.

 Antarctic ice diving, no big deal This is a story about scientists who go scuba diving underneath the Antarctic ice. If nothing else, it’s worth checking out for the picture on the top of the page. (via Boing Boing) update: video of some of these dives (including what has to be the coolest observation tower(?) ever) can be found here

A sky in many parts What happens when a camera takes a picture of the sky every ten seconds for a year? A really, really cool video. from the creator:

“This is a year-long time-lapse study of the sky. A camera installed on the roof of the Exploratorium museum in San Francisco captured an image of the sky every 10 secobnds. From these images, I created a mosaic of time-lapse movies, each showing a single day. The days are arranged in chronological order. My intent was to reveal the patterns of light and weather over the course of a year.” (via kottke.org)

Deadbeat Dad? Hardly. A study with some interesting implications for this blog’s identity. Apparently, research shows that first time Fathers in their twenties tend to rid themselves of their vices shortly after becoming fathers.  The full article isn’t available, but the abstract and methodology are interesting enough.

That’s Not True. How did we reach the point where one of the challengers for “leader of the free world” decided that it was not in his best interest to know “anything” about foreign policy. This isn’t 19th Century isolationism anymore – this is a globalized world with complex and far reaching issues, yet our President isn’t supposed to know anything about foreign policy? Henry Kissinger is weeping.

A win for kids everywhere. Congress has once again mandated that the tomato paste used in pizza counts as a vegetable serving in school lunches. Case in point for how lobbying often undermines the best interests of the populace. Who is really going to argue that we should feed our kids healthier food? Oh yeah. These people.

Happy weekend.

  1. Justin, I have access to that journal you cited above (on the fatherhood article). If you are interested, I can email you the pdf. It is an interesting read. Just let me know if you would like to read it. Working at F&M, I have access to a good number of journals. Don’t hesitate to ask!

  2. the marketer in me says you should brand this weekly recap in some way….do it every week and put it under some clever header. reading blogs by friends is my new favorite thing.

  3. also, this comment is linking to a blog that is not my own. fyi. i didn’t want you to be confused.

  4. Why not make pizza a federally approved food group. A lot of us would be much happier!

Leave a Reply

